Thomas_Karstens_Gitarrist  
     
 
 

Paulino Bernabé(1932-2007) has been considered as one of the most brilliant guitar makers of all times. After having studied classical guitar with Daniel Fortea, a pupil of Francísco Tárrega, P.B. began his career in the workshop of Ramirez, which he directed until 1970, the year he started his own business.

In 1973 P.B. built his first guitar for Narciso Yepes, which the maestro played until the end of his life. In 1974 the luthier won the gold medal at the International Trade Fair for Craft Trades in Munich. Today his son of the same name (*1960) is the head of the workshop.

The interview with Paulino Bernabé (father) was made in 1998 in Madrid and it has been published in the German guitar magazin Gitarre&Laute 1/1999. The photos were made by the Spanish photographer Juan José Delgado.

Thomas Karstens plays three instruments made by Paulino Bernabé: A spruce top guitar from 1992, a cedar top guitar from 1984 and a model after Torres´ »La Suprema« from 2011. These three instruments can be heard on the CD »The guitar is different«.

Thomas_Karstens_Gitarrist  
     
 
 

Paulino Bernabé (1932-2007) galt als einer der brillantesten Gitarrenbauer seiner Zeit. Nachdem er zuerst Gitarre bei Daniel Fortea in seiner Geburtsstadt Madrid studiert hatte, entschied er sich 1954 für die Laufbahn als Gitarrenbauer und begann seine Lehrzeit bei Ramírez.

Seit 1970 baute Paulino Bernabé Gitarren unter seinem eigenen Namen. 1973 stellte er zum ersten Mal eine Gitarre für Narciso Yepes her. Der Meister hat dieses Instrument bis zu seinem Tod gespielt. 1974 gewann Paulino Bernabé die Goldmedaille der Handwerks-Ausstellung in München. Die Manufaktur wird heute von seinem Sohn Paulino Bernabé geleitet.

Das Interview mit Paulino Bernabé entstand im Juli 1998 in dessen Werkstatt in Madrid. Es wurde im Heft 1/1999 von Gitarre & Laute veröffentlich. Die Fotos sind von Juan José Delgado, Madrid.

Thomas Karstens spielt verschiedene Bernabé-Gitarren, ein Instrument aus dem Jahr 1992, ein 1984 von Paulino Bernabé fertiggestelltes Instrument, sowie eine nach Antonio Torres gebaute Gitarre "La Suprema".